RSS

Season 1, Episode 6

23 Jun

Breaking Bad 1-6, “Crazy Handful of Nothin'”

Opener

Walt carries a carton of stuff into the RV, and sees the debris all over the floor. “Let’s get something straight,” he says. “I’ll do the chemistry; you do the street.”

“Whatever, man.”

“No more bloodshed. No more violence.”

Scene 1: Walt getting chemo

Skyler’s there. “I like being with you.” She’s supporting him and giving him all of her love. She’s also being a bit controlling – making sure he goes through with treatment. Walt says he’d feel better if she were there when Junior got home. He adds that he got a check from Eliot and put it right into his credit union account. Later, we see him tell the nice, older cashier lady not to deposit his check “until Monday.”

Scene 2

Walt’s school

Wearing a beige sweater over a white shirt, Walt’s telling his students that rapid chemical reactions release big bursts of energy. We see “Mercury fulminate” written on the chalkboard.

Next thing you know, he’s in the bathroom vomiting into the sink. “You okay?” asks Hugo, the big, pony-tailed janitor. Walt’s starting to clean up the mess he made, but Hugo stops him. “I got it, Mr. White. You got kids to teach.”

“Thanks, Hugo.”

Walt’s cancer support group

Skyler: “He’s starting to lose weight.” She turns to Walt. “When you don’t let me in, when you don’t tell me what’s going on, I feel…Why have you been coming home so late in the afternoons?”

Junior: “Yeah, Dad.”

Walt: “I like to be alone at times. It’s not about you. Sometimes it feels better not to talk.”

Therapist: “Maybe it would help your family to know what you do when you’re alone.”

“I take walks, enjoy nature…the cacti…”

Cooking in the desert

We see the RV with fumes coming out of it. Coughing, Walt falls out of the RV door onto the ground. Jesse, who’s been sitting outside in a folding chair, jumps up. “Are you okay?” He helps Walt up, and leads him to the chair. “Sit down, get some air.” He fans him with the magazine he’s been reading, then notices the red mark in the center of Walt’s chest. “When were you gonna tell me?”

“What?”

“Cancer. You got it, right?”

“How did you know?”

“That red dot on your chest to target the radiation. My aunt had it. What, is it in the lung? I’m your partner. You should have told me. That’s not cool at all. What stage are you?”

“Three-A.”

“That’s your lymph nodes.”

“Your aunt – how bad was she when she caught it?”

“Bad enough. She didn’t last long.”

“How long?”

“Seven months.”

“God.”

“I get it now. That’s why you’re doin’ all this. You want to make some cash for your people before you check out.”

“You got a problem with that?”

“Hey, you tell me. You’re the one that looks like you just crawled out of a microwave…You gonna be able to finish the batch?”

“Yes.” Coughs. “No, you do it.”

“Me?”

“Yeah – what happened to your mad skills?” Walt throws Jesse the mask. “You do it…You can do it. If you have any questions, I’ll be right out here.”

“Next time put an ice pack on your head during chemo,” Jesse says, heading for the RV door. “My aunt said it helped with the hair loss.”

Inside the RV, Jesse seems unsure. Slow drums. He puts the mask on.

Scene 3

Hank and Gomie, each in his vehicle

Gomie hands Hank a bag containing the gas mask they found at the cook site. “They found an imprint of some writing on it: “Property of J.P. Wynne Chemistry Lab.”

“That’s Walt’s school.”

Jesse sells bags of the product all around the city. Music plays: “Such a good night for a Scooby doo doo be doo love.”

The RV, still in the desert

Walt’s waiting. Jesse gets there, and Walt complains that he’s late.

“Hey, I’m out there making fat stacks, man. Chill.” He tosses something over. “Prepaid cell phone. Use it.” He hands Walt some money, too.

“How much is this?”

“Twenty-six big ones.”

“$26,000?”

“No – 26 hundred. Your share is 13 hundred, minus $25 bucks for the phone.”

“How much meth did you sell?”

“Nearly an ounce.”

“Where’s the rest?”

“You think it’s cake selling one teenth at a time?” [A teenth is a sixteenth of an ounce, which, apparently Jesse’s selling it for $150 a bag (he was exaggerating – or taking some for himself – when he said he sold a whole ounce).]

“So, why don’t you sell the whole thing once?”

“What do I look like – Scarface?”

Walt holds up his roll of money. “This…is unacceptable. I am breaking the law here. That return is too little for the risk. I thought you’d be ready for another pound today.”

“You may know a lot about chemistry, man, but you don’t know jack about slinging dope.”

“I know a lack of motivation when I see it. You’ve gotta be more imaginative. Just think outside the box here. We have to move our product in bulk, wholesale. Now how do we do that?”

“You mean like a distributor?”

“Yes! Yes. That’s what we need. Do you know anyone like that?”

“I used to. Until you killed him.”

“So, who took Krazy 8’s place?”

“Some guy named Tuco. A badass from what I hear.”

“So, great – talk to Tuco.”

“Right. Like, ‘Hello, sir. Hey, I know you don’t know me, but would you be interested in a large quantity of methamphetamine?'”

“Yes, but with a little salesmanship.”

“You just don’t get it, man. This guy’s O.G. [Original Gangster] He’s not going to do business with someone he doesn’t know. You don’t understand the way it works. You can’t just bum rush some high-level ice man and start cutting deals. Okay? It’s risky. You need an intro. You need someone to vouch.”

“Who introduced you to Krazy 8?”

“Emilio. That’s only because I knew him from, like, third grade.”

“All right, all right!”

“It’s too risky. We’re makin’ money. Why can’t you just be satisfied with the way it is?”

Walt gets up and stomps back up the steps into the RV, muttering, “Jesus! Just grow some balls!”

Jesse: “Wow.”

Scene 4

Walt getting chemo from an IV and paying for the appointment.

Walt at school, vomiting, then coughing, alone in the classroom. The female vice principal comes in. “Up for having a visitor?”

It’s Hank. “I have some questions I wanted to run by you. Work-related.” He shows him the gas mask, “Do you recognize that?”

“No.”

“Well, that was used to cook meth. It was found on Indian land some forty miles from here. The old label on the inside used to say, ‘Property of J.P. Wynne Chemistry Lab.'”

“Really. I don’t understand how that came from here.”

“Well, I was hopin’ you could help me with it. We found it near an abandoned car belonged to one of our snitches.”

“Snitch?”

“Yeah – confidential informant. Went missing – no body yet, but we’re pretty sure…” Hank makes a clicking noise and a sawing motion with his hand across his throat. “Probably chopped up in little pieces and fed to the buzzards.” Hank doesn’t notice that Walt isn’t meeting his eyes. “Any respirators like that go missin’ lately?”

“No, no. Not that I know of.”

“Well, I’ll need to take a look at that inventory.” He looks at what’s on the shelf and checks the inventory list. “Six. Inventory says eight.”

“Hmmm.”

“Glassware looks a little sparse. You’re missing a couple of Erlenmeyer flasks.”

Walt’s cell phone rings and Hank says, “Aren’t you going to answer that?”

It’s Jesse. “Yo – what’s up, Mr. White? Bad time to talk? Well, just listen. You know that guy we were talkin’ about, Tuco? Turns out my buddy Skinny Pete was in the same cell block with him over at Los Lunas. We’re gonna go talk to the dude right now.”

“Okay. Well, thank you very much for calling.” To Hank: “My doctor is very solicitous.”

“I don’t want to get you in trouble,” Hank says, “but you gotta keep better watch over your turf.”

“I will.”

“We don’t want people to start wonderin’ about you.” Hank looks at Walt seriously, and Walt looks back. It seems like a long moment, then Hank laughs. Walt laughs too.

Scene 5: Jesse and Skinny Pete visit Tuco at his headquarters

Rap music plays as the two go through various entrance checks. Someone takes Jesse’s bag of meth.

Tuco, who seems to have metal teeth, asks, “This your boy?” of Skinny Pete.

“Yeah – Jesse. Dude with the glass I was tellin’ you about.”

Jesse: “Hey, man – yeah. I’ve heard a lot about you.”

Tuco’s sitting behind a big table. “Break out the ice.” He makes Jesse snort some, then does the same. “Booya! This kicks like a mule with his balls wrapped in duct tape! Where’d you get it?”

“I cooked it.”

Tuco laughs. “Bullshit! Who you workin’ for?”

“No one, man. I have a partner that I cook with, but that’s it.”

“All right. We got a deal.”

“Cool.”

“How much?”

“Thirty-five large for the pound.”

“S’good. Get out of here!”

“What about the money?”

“You’ll get it. This is a consignment operation.”

“You want me to float 35 G’s?”

“You don’t trust me?”

“No, hey – it’s not about that, man. I don’t do business that way.”

“Shit. The deal’s done.”

Jesse turns to Skinny Pete. “You said this was cool!”

Skinny Pete: “Tuco’s good for it.”

Tuco slams the big knife he poked the meth with into the table, point down. “I don’t need your punk ass to vouch for me!”

Jesse grabs the bag of meth and tries to run, but Tuco’s men drag him back in.

He’s panting. “Oh, come on!”

Tuco smiles. “All right. You brought me some really clean crystal. You really want your money up front?” He opens his safe and puts what looks like clumps of money into a cloth bag. As Jesse gets up to take the bag, Tuco slams him to the floor and gives him a vicious beating, using the bag. “Nobody moves crystal in the South Valley but me, bitch!” Jesse’s on the floor, blood coming out of his mouth.

Scene 6

Hugo’s raising the school flag as Hank comes to arrest him. Walt and Junior have just arrived, too. “Uncle Hank’s arresting Mr. Archuleta!” Junior says.

Casa Blanca

Walt’s in the kitchen, leaving a phone message for Jesse. “Where the hell are you? Call me back.”

Playing poker in the living room, the family talks about Walt’s treatment. He tells them that Carmen, the vice principal, is getting someone to sub for him for two weeks.

Junior: “Hey, Uncle Hank – why were you arresting Mr. Archuleta the other day? He’s a pretty cool guy.”

“Well, turns out he has a record. Couple of possession beefs. We figured he was the guy that was stealing your lab’s chemistry gear. You know, he had a key, fit the profile. And when we searched his truck, we found a big old blunt.”

Walt looks sad.

Skyler: “How could they hire him?”

Walt: “He doesn’t strike me as a thief. What’s gonna happen to him?”

“He’ll lose his job, spend a couple months in county…I’m waiting. You gonna man up or puss out?” Bet or fold?

Walt pushes all his chips to the center of the table. “I’m all in.”

Hank folds, only to find that Walt was bluffing. As Marie says, having looked at Walt’s cards, “A hand full o’nothin.'”

The next morning, we see Walt in the shower as he realizes he’s losing his hair. In the kitchen, drinking soda from a can, he calls Jesse, and hears a strange voice answer, “What up?” It’s Skinny Pete.

“Who is this?” Pause. “Where is he then?”

“In the hospital. You the guy?”

“Yeah, I’m the guy. How is he?”

“Got some busted ribs and like that.” We see Jesse, unconscious, in a neck brace. “I was all like, damn, Tuco – chill, ese! He’s out, man, way out. They got him doped up big time.” Walt looks concerned. “So, you the cook, huh? You know I didn’t catch your name.”

Walt doesn’t answer. He sits down. “Tell me about this Tuco. Tell me everything about him.”

We see Walt in the bathroom, shaving his head with an electric razor, then coming into the kitchen for breakfast. Junior smiles, and Skyler puts her hand to her mouth in shock. Sitting down, Walt says, “Morning. Pass the butter, please.”

Junior: “Badass, Dad.”

Scene 7: Walt’s visit to Tuco’s

Walt’s dressed in a gray T-shirt, black pants, and a black jacket. He’s carrying what looks like more meth in a bag.

The music is louder than before. Walt says to the first guard, “You Tuco? I want to talk to Tuco, and I’m not leaving until I do.” He’s frisked roughly, and the bag taken.

Tuco’s examining a big meth crystal on his knife when Walt’s allowed in to see him. “What’s your name?” he asks.

“Heisenberg.”

“Have a seat, Heisenberg.”

“I don’t imagine I’ll be here very long.”

“No? All right. Be that way…Start talking and tell me what you want.”

“$50,000.”

“Fifty G’s. How do you figure that?”

“Thirty-five for the pound of meth you stole, and another fifteen for my partner’s pain and suffering.”

Tuco, wearing black leather, puts his cigarette out on his tongue, and laughs. “Oh, yeah – I remember that little bitch. So, you must be his daddy.” He gets up. “Let me get this straight. I take the dope, beat the piss out of your boy, and you walk in here and bring me more. It’s a brilliant plan, ese – brilliant.”

“You got one part of that wrong.” Walt picks up the big crystal. “This isn’t meth.” He turns and throws it, hard, to the floor, and the room explodes. From outside, we see smoke and debris pouring out of the windows, and heavy objects falling onto Tuco’s men.

Inside, Tuco gets up, covered with dust. “Are you nuts?”

Walt holds the bag up, and when one of Tuco’s men points a gun at him, Tuco tells him, “Calma!” He says to Walt, “You got balls, I’ll give you that. All right. I’ll give you the money. That crystal your partner brought me sold faster than $10 ass in TJ. Let’s say you bring me another pound next week.”

Walt: “Money up front.”

Tuco: “Money up front.”

Walt: “One pound is not gonna cut it. You have to take two.”

Tuco laughs and coughs. “Orale. Hey, what is it?”

“Fulminate of mercury. A little tweak of chemistry.”

Walt backs out, holding two bags, one containing Tuco’s money. He gets in his car, and shouts “Grrrr!!!” till he starts coughing. Music plays, the Silver Seas’ “Catch Yer Own Train”:

I wish I was strong

Would’ve known from the start

Instead of waiting so long

To reveal what’s behind

But there’s no use in talking

You made up your mind…

Baby you and I, (are not the same)

You say you like sun (I like the rain)

So before we go through it all again

You better catch yer own train

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
